Undergraduate Program

New College of Florida offers more than 40 different majors in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, as well as a number of interdisciplinary concentrations.

Turn your intellectual curiosity into personal accomplishment

Focus on an area of study, design your own major, or complete an interdisciplinary concentration.

New College supports students with a passion for learning and a desire to take responsibility for their own education. That’s why our professors provide written evaluations – rather than letter grades – to assess your work each term.  During your four years here, you will be expected to fulfill seven academic contracts.  Each contract is a written agreement between you and your faculty advisor regarding your educational goals, academic activities, and progress toward graduation each semester.  You get to choose from more than 40 Areas of Concentration (majors) and over 300 courses offered annually at New College. You can also pursue one or more of our certificate programs that focus on professional skills.

Each January, you will work on an independent study project that can include a lab experiment, scholarly paper, study abroad, off-campus internship, art exhibit, or musical or theatrical performance.  The culmination of your New College education is the senior thesis project, in which you will produce a major research paper, body of artwork, or other highly developed presentation that reflects your Area of Concentration.

Areas of Concentration Offered by New College of Florida

* Can only be completed as part of a Joint Concentration
**Can only be completed as a Secondary Field (minor)
+Special Program Concentration

Apply Now

Explore Professional Development Opportunities

Integrate career skills and preprofessional training with your academic coursework


New College offers short, intensive programs to gain certification in career-related skills.

Read more here

Dual Bachelor Degrees in Liberal Arts and Engineering

Pursue this innovative dual degree program where you can earn a liberal arts degree from New College and an engineering degree from the University of Florida in five years.

Read more here

Pre-Professional Communities

Our Pre-Professional Communities are designed for students to continue their studies in their chosen Area of Concentration while developing additional skills that prepare them to stand when applying to a professional school.

Learn more

academic departments and programs at new college

Natural Sciences
Social Sciences