New College of Florida

New College of Florida is the 11th member of the State University System of Florida, which is headed by a chancellor and the appointed Florida Board of Governors, the system’s super governing board, which has delegated authority to the local governing board of each member institution.


New College is fortunate to have dedicated leaders who, guided by the Board of Trustees, provide the direction for the daily operations of the College.

President Patricia Okker: Dr. Patricia Okker officially assumed her post as New College of Florida’s sixth president on July 1, 2021. Before coming to New College, Okker was the dean of the College of Arts & Sciences at the University of Missouri 

Provost Suzanne Sherman: Dr. Suzanne Sherman officially assumed her post on October 2, 2020 after serving as the associate provost from 2018 to 2020 and chair of the faculty from 2013 to 2016. She is also an associate professor of chemistry who has served on the New College faculty for more than 30 years.


New College of Florida Board of Trustees
New College of Florida is governed by its own Board of Trustees. Under the Florida Constitution, the affairs of each university in the State University System of Florida are administered by a board of trustees. The Florida Legislature and the Florida Board of Governors have set responsibilities of the boards, as specified in Florida Statutes, Sections 1001.71-1001.74, and in the Resolution of the Florida Board of Governors adopted January 7, 2003. The composition, authority, responsibilities and procedures of the New College of Florida Board of Trustees, are set forth in the Florida Constitution, Florida Statutes and regulations of the Florida Board of Governors.

Office of the General Counsel
The Office of General Counsel provides legal counsel, representation, research and opinions to the Board of Trustees, College President, and all other areas of the College as appropriate, including management of all litigation matters brought by or against the College. The office is also responsible for maintaining College-wide standards for contract administration and regulatory compliance.

Florida Board of Governors
The Florida Board of Governors was created in 2003 by Constitutional Amendment. The Board of The Florida Board of Governors, the appointed body mandated by the Florida Constitution “to operate, regulate, control and be fully responsible for the management of the whole university system,” adopted regulations setting authority of the local boards of trustees in a resolution of January 7, 2003. The Board of Governors has delegated responsibility for setting duties of the university presidents to the boards of trustees.
Members of the Florida Board of Governors

The State University System
The purpose and mission of the State University System as a whole is clearly defined in the following statute, Title XLVIII of Florida’s K-20 Education Code:

“The mission of the state system of postsecondary education is to develop human resources, to discover and disseminate knowledge, to extend knowledge and its application beyond the boundaries of its campuses, and to develop in students heightened intellectual, cultural, and humane sensitivities; scientific, professional, and technological expertise; and a sense of purpose. Inherent in this broad mission are methods of instruction, research, extended training, and public service designed to educate people and improve the human condition.”

A Chancellor heads the State University System
Members of the State University System of Florida

Related Link


Faculty Meetings

Faculty meetings are the legislative assembly of the New College faculty. The officers of the faculty are the president, the provost, the chairperson of the faculty, and the secretary of the faculty.

The chairperson of the faculty is the designated Faculty Trustee, a voting member of the New College of Florida Board of Trustees. Five students are invited to faculty meetings with voting privileges. These are the president of the New College Student Alliance, one of the Division Representatives from each Division, and one additional student to be selected by student procedures.

The concerns of the legislative assembly of the New College Faculty over academic matters include but are not limited to:

  • curriculum policy and structure;
  • degree requirements;
  • requirements granting of degrees;
  • policies concerning student recruitment, admission and retention;
  • faculty rights and obligations;
  • the development, curtailment, discontinuance and reorganization of academic programs
  • appointment, retention, promotion and tenure of faculty;
  • academic governance and the procedures therefore;
  • student evaluation policies; and
  • other traditional matters of academic concern.

The New College Faculty regularly holds formal meetings on the second Wednesday of each month during the academic year.

Related Links (New college login required to view)

Faculty Meeting Minutes
Faculty Officers
Faculty Handbook
Collective Bargaining Agreement