New College of Florida Board of Trustees Sudakoff Conference Center Minutes for April 26, 2023

Prayer

Yosef Shapiro, member of Jewish community conducted the invocation.

Pledge of Allegiance

Chair Debra A. Jenks started the pledge.

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m. and a quorum was established.

Trustees Present: Debra A. Jenks (Chair), Ron Christaldi (Vice Chair), Mark Bauerlein, Lance Karp, Grace Keenan, Charles Kesler, Matthew Lepinski, Sarah Mackie, Christopher Rufo, Mary Ruiz, Matthew Spalding, and Eddie Speir. Not present: Ryan Anderson

Trustee Speir stated that he would like to have new business placed on the agenda for this board meeting and future meetings going forward. After discussion with Counsel, it was determined this would be on future agendas and his items would be discussed at the end of the meeting if time allowed.

Acknowledgment of Notice of Meeting

Interim Chief of Staff and Associate Vice President of Government Relations Christie Fitz-Patrick confirmed the meeting had been duly noticed.

Call for Public Comment

Public comment process ensued. The following members of the public provided comments: Sonia Howman; Amy Reid; Sarah Hernandez; Kristopher Fennie; Nicolas Delon; Kathleen Casto; Jocelyn Van Tuyl; Katherine Brion; Sonia Labrador; David Gillman; Steven Shipman; Patrick McDonald; Chris Kottke; Joshua Epstein; Michael Bolesh; Olivia Pare; Alaska Miller; Brendan Hersh; Shari Gorman; Elizabeth Albiez; Alisa Mitchell; Rodrigo Diaz; Michael Penney; Hannah Galantino-Homer; David Bolesh; Stephanie Bolesh; Mike Sanderson; Jono Miller; Tamara Solum; Juliana Pare-Blagoev; Pamela Pare; Joyce White; Braedan Stuart; Eliana Salzhauer; Tracy Fero; Matthew Senecal; Jens Albiez; Galen Rydzik; Betsy Braden; Robin Williams; Lisa Jank-Mejia; David Land; Sharon Ramey; Shari Benedict; Anne McAllister; Amanda Gilliland; Bruce Benidt; Ari Wible; Steven Russell; Hayden Garbez; Aurélie Campbell; Elizabeth Kufrovich

Consent Agenda

The consent agenda was presented and a request was made by Chair Jenks that it be approved.

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made, seconded and was approved unanimously.

Consent agenda action items approved were as follows:

- Approve Minutes of the February 28, 2023, BOT Meeting
- Approve Reviewed 2021-22 Performance Based Funding Data Integrity Audit and Data Integrity Certification
- Approval of Regulation Amendments Regulation 3-1002(6): Tuition and Fees
- Approval of Regulation Amendments Regulation 4-2005: Degree Program Planning

and Approval

• Approval of Regulation Amendments - Regulation 4-6001: Institutes and Centers

Informational Items provided to the Board for their review as part of the Consent Agenda include:

Alternative Admissions Option

President's Report

Interim President Richard Corcoran provided his remarks.

2023 Accountability Plan

Chair Jenks requested Interim Provost Brad Thiessen to present the 2023 Accountability Plan. Interim Provost Thiessen explained the accountability plan. Trustee Ruiz requested the statute (1004.32, F.S.) be added as a reference to the mission statement. After discussion ensued a motion was made to add 1004.32 F.S. as a reference to mission statement seconded and was approved unanimously. Trustee Keenan requested several changes be made to the accountability plan. After discussion ensued a motion was made to amend sections 4, 5 and 6 to the amended accountability plan seconded and was approved unanimously. A motion was made to approve the amended accountability plan, seconded and a roll call vote was taken with 11 voting yes and 0 voting no.

Changing Institutional Accreditors

Chair Jenks requested Interim Provost Brad Thiessen to go over changing intuitional accreditors. <u>After discussion ensued a motion was made to direct staff to proceed with switching institutional accreditors, seconded and was approved unanimously.</u>

Academic, Student and External Affairs Committee

Chair Jenks requested Trustee Bauerlein to present the Academic, Student and External Affairs Committee item that was deferred to the full board. Trustee Bauerlein stated there are several faculty members have come up for early tenure in year five for consideration. He requested General Counsel Galvano to provide an overview of the process and the status of the decision before us today. Counsel Galvano provided an overview of the process. After discussion ensued, Chair Jenks requested a motion for each of the candidates individually.

Trustee Kesler and Vice Chair Christaldi left the meeting for other prior commitments before the final vote.

- A motion was made to approve early tenure for Dr. Rebecca Black, seconded and a roll call vote was taken with 4 voting yes and 6 voting no. The candidate was denied early tenure.
- A motion was made to approve early tenure for Dr. Lin Jiang, seconded and a roll call vote was taken with 4 voting yes and 6 voting no. The candidate was denied early tenure.
- A motion was made to approve early tenure for Dr. Nassima Neggaz, seconded and a roll call vote was taken with 4 voting yes and 6 voting no. The candidate was denied early tenure.
- A motion was made to approve early tenure for Dr. Gerardo Toro-Farmer, seconded and a roll call vote was taken with 4 voting yes and 6 voting no. The candidate was denied early tenure.
- A motion was made to approve early tenure for Dr. Hugo Viera-Vargas, seconded

and a roll call vote was taken with 4 voting yes and 6 voting no. The candidate was denied early tenure.

New Business

Chair Jenks recognized Trustee Speir to bring up new business. Trustee Speir stated he would like to see a threat assessment put together by Campus Police at a future meeting. He also wanted to have the Strategic Planning Committee discuss the new mascot options at their next meeting.

Adjournment

There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned 4:47 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Christie Fitz-Patrick Interim Chief of Staff, AVP Government Relations and BOT Liaison