New College of Florida Board of Trustees Zoom Meeting Minutes for February 13, 2023

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 12:32 p.m. and a quorum was established.

Trustees Present: Debra A. Jenks (Chair), Ron Christaldi (Vice Chair), Ryan Anderson, Mark Bauerlein, Lance Karp, Grace Keenan, Charles Kesler, Matthew Lepinski, Sarah Mackie, Christopher Rufo, Matthew Spalding, and Eddie Speir; Trustee not present: Mary Ruiz

Acknowledgment of Notice of Meeting

AVP Christie Fitz-Patrick confirmed the meeting had been duly noticed.

Chair Jenks moved public comment to after approval of Interim President Richard Corcoran's contract and approval of the Student Success Plan Report.

Approval of Interim President Richard Corcoran Contract

Chair Jenks provided an overview of the contract and qualifications of Richard Corcoran.

Following discussion, a motion was made to approve the contract for Richard Corcoran as Interim

President for New College, seconded and a roll call vote proceeded with 11 voting yes and 1 voting no.

Approval of Student Success Plan Report

Chair Jenks requested Acting Interim President Dr. Brad Thiessen to provide an overview of the Student Success Plan Report. Dr. Thiessen explained the report.

A motion was made to approve the student success plan report, seconded and approved by unanimous vote.

Call for Public Comment

Public comment process ensued. The following members of the public provided comments: Diego Villada, Kristen Miller, Jennifer Wright, Amanda Gilliland, Cathy Antunes, Eliana Salzhauer, Tracy Fero, Betsy Braden, Robin Williams, Billy Townsend, Jay Neaves, Rep. Anna Eskamani, Sonia Howman, Cooper Wright, Tamara Solum

Adjournment

There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned 1:24 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Christie Fitz-Patrick

AVP Government Relations and BOT Liaison