Four Appointed to New College of Florida Board of Trustees

New College of Florida welcomes four people recently appointed to the College’s Board of Trustees.
Florida Gov. Rick Scott appointed Bradenton resident Fermin Miranda and Sarasota resident Norman Worthington III to the Board on Feb. 8.
Miranda is the senior vice president of Cadence Bank. He currently serves as chair of the international trade committee for the Bradenton Economic Development Corporation and previously served as chair of the Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Sun Coast. He is appointed to a vacant seat for a term beginning February 8, 2016, and ending January 6, 2018.
Worthington is the chief executive officer of both Star2Star Communications and Copytalk, LLC. He previously served on the New College Foundation’s board. Worthington received his bachelor’s degree from New College of Florida and a law degree from Northwestern School of Law of Lewis and Clark College. He succeeds Steven Snyder for a term beginning February 8, 2016, and ending January 6, 2021.
The Board of Governors of the State University System of Florida appointed Lakewood Ranch resident Audrey Coleman and Minneapolis resident John Lilly to the Board on Jan. 21.
Coleman is a former school administrator and currently serves as a board member of the Community Foundation of Sarasota County and the Children First board. She has served on the New College of Florida Board of Trustees since 2011. She received her bachelor’s degree in music education from Youngstown State University and her master’s degree in education from Boston State University. Coleman is reappointed for a term beginning January 21, 2016 through January 6, 2021.
Lilly is the president of John Lilly Strategic Insights. He was previously the president of the Pillsbury Company and held various executive positions with the Procter & Gamble Company. He currently serves as a trustee for Sarah Lawrence College. He received his bachelor’s degree in economics from Emory University and his master’s degree in business administration from Harvard. Lilly is appointed for a term beginning January 21, 2016 through January 6, 2021.
The Florida Senate confirmed the re-appointments of Trustees William Johnston and Felice Schulaner on Jan. 28, for second terms through January 6, 2020​.
Johnston, of Bradenton, served from 1996 to 2003 as the president and chief operating officer of the New York Stock Exchange. He is a graduate of Washington and Lee University, and has served on the boards of Hollins College in Virginia, Washington and Lee University, Friends of DeSoto National Park and Omicron Delta Kappa, of which he is a member.  He also has served on advisory boards for the Lubin School of Business at Pace University in New York, Goizueta School of Business at Emory University and the Jepson School of Leadership Studies of Richmond University.
Schulaner, of Siesta Key, is a graduate of New College and a past president of the New College Foundation. She previously served as senior vice president of human resources at Coach, Inc., and in similar positions with Optimark Technologies and Salant Corporation.  She also held senior executive positions with Macy’s and American Express, and retail management positions at Sears and Jordan Marsh.