Message from the Chair

The New College Alumnae/i Association (NCAA) held a Board meeting on May 20, 2016 at the Keating Center.


Message from the New College Alumnae/i Association Board of Directors Chair

On May 20, the 170 newest members of the New College Alumnae/i Association and the college’s 50th graduating class received their diplomas under a grand tent on the Bayfront. Congratulations to our newest graduates!

The NCAA Board of Directors met earlier in the afternoon on May 20 for our spring meeting.

The board heard reports from the Fundraising and Finance Committee, the Governance Committee, the Communications Committee, the Special Events Committee, and the newly formed Student Life Committee.

The board approved the recommendation of the Special Events Committee that we schedule the next major reunion for February 15-18, 2018. The board will move forward to solicit assistance in developing a theme for the reunion, committees to plan and promote the reunion, a graphic to brand the event. There will be many volunteer opportunities for alumnae/i interested in planning and promoting this reunion.

The Governance Committee reported the results of the 2016 election. The following individuals were elected: Frazier Carraway ’72, Robert Freedman ’83, Cindy Hill ’89, James Tietsworth ’84 and Troy Winfrey ’87. The Vetting subcommittee unanimously recommended the reappointment of Jordan Clark ’04 to a new term which was unanimously passed by the board. After due discussion the board also adopted a policy of requiring informal mediation to resolve interpersonal disputes among board members.

The student life committee has met four times since its inception in February and has functioned according to four guiding pillars it has created. The committee is formed of four NCAA board members and a current student from the NCSA.

The board discussed the proposed revisions to the Alcohol and Other Drugs Policy. The board expressed concern about the proposed policy that was submitted for public comment. The board voted to provide a statement to the president expressing the board’s concerns.

Board members Colin Boyle ‘89, Michael Dexter ’07, and Maia Hinkle ‘05 completed their board terms and did not run for re-election or reappointment. Board member Shannon Strischek ‘05 resigned from the board before the meeting. We thank them all for their service.

Chad Bickerton agreed to act as interim chair of the Governance Committee and Jordan Clark agreed to be interim chair of the Communications Committee. These positions will be formally filled during the July 23 meeting.

There was an alumnae/i reception in the Keating center after the meeting and before Commencement. It was a great time to socialize and pick up wrist bands for the Coup. During the reception several former students recognized Gabrielle Vail ‘83, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Anthropology, for her service to New College.


Frazier Carraway ‘72
Chair; New College Alumnae/i Association
Board of Directors