Latin American/Caribbean Scholarship Program

Scholarship Value: over $20,000 per year (over $80,000 over four years)

The LAC Scholarship assigns in-state tuition prices PLUS $1,000 per year to help cover tuition and fees.

The LAC Scholarship Program replaces all other institutional scholarships.

These are the eligibility criteria for the LAC Scholarship Program:

  • You are one of the following:
    • U.S. Citizen and resident of Puerto Rico or the U.S. Virgin Islands
    • Citizen and resident of one of the Latin American/Caribbean countries on the list below, and seeking to study on an eligible visa
    • U.S. Permanent Resident Alien residing in Puerto Rico or the U.S. Virgin Islands
  • All of your required admission materials are on file by the posted deadline
  • You are admitted to New College for that class
  • You submit your $200 enrollment deposit by the posted deadline.

For more information on tuition and residency, please contact Tiffany Washington at or 941-487-4264.


To allow for possible delays in mail and processing, please do your best to complete your admission application file by these dates:

Fall Entry Term (Freshman and Transfer Admission)
All application materials due for admission and scholarship eligibility: April 1st
Deadline to accept admission offer: May 1st

All required application materials (including any required transcript evaluations and translations, official transcripts, exam scores, and the recommendation) must be received by the Office of Admissions and Financial Aid on or before the deadline.

Mail postmarked by the appropriate date will meet the deadline so long as the mail is received by 5 p.m. the following business day.

Countries and Territories for the LAC Scholarship Program:

U.S. Citizens and U.S. Permanent Resident Aliens residing in the following:

Puerto Rico
U.S. Virgin Islands

Out-of-State resident citizens of the following:

Anguilla Bolivia Cuba Grenada Mexico St. Lucia
Antigua and Barbuda Brazil Curacao Guadeloupe Montserrat St. Maarten/St. Martin
Argentina British Virgin Islands Dominica Guatemala Nicaragua St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Aruba Caribbean Netherlands Dominican Republic Guyana Panama Suriname
Bahamas Cayman Islands Ecuador Haiti Paraguay Trinidad and Tobago
Barbados Chile El Salvador Honduras Peru Turks and Caicos Islands
Belize Colombia Falkland Islands Jamaica St. Barthelemy Uruguay
Bermuda Costa Rica French Guiana Martinique St. Kitts and Nevis Venezuela