• Events

    Afro-Puerto Rican Bomba Dance Workshop with Taller de Bomba Balancé

    Fri Feb 1 2019 6:30pm to 8:00pm

    This program is presented by the New College of Florida Black...

    Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe- Amen Corner

    Sat Feb 2 2019 2:00pm to 4:00pm

    For years, Sister Margaret Alexander has inspired her Harlem...

    Concert Sur La Bay

    Sat Feb 2 2019 5:00pm to 10:00pm

    This event kicks off the NCF Black History Month of events....

    Speaking Truth to Power: The Role of Hip Hop in the Post- Obama Era

    Tue Feb 5 2019 6:30pm to 9:00pm

    Talk by James Stewart, President of the Association for the...

    African Diaspora Film Festival – ‘The Feminist on Cell Block Y’

    Thu Feb 7 2019 6:00pm to 9:00pm

    A convicted felon builds a feminist movement from behind bars...

    Black History Month Open Mic Night

    Fri Feb 8 2019 7:00pm to 9:00pm

    The fourth annual Black History Month Open Mic Night. This...

    The 4th Black Mental Health and Wellness Symposium

    Sat Feb 9 2019 12:00pm to 9:00pm

    The 4th annual Black History Month academic symposium will...

    African Diaspora Film Festival- Black Power Mixtape

    Tue Feb 12 2019 6:00pm to 9:00pm

    THE BLACK POWER MIXTAPE 1967-1975 mobilizes a treasure trove...

    Conversation on Race and Ethnicity with Dr. Jorge Giovannetti – Torres

    Wed Feb 13 2019 6:00pm to 8:00pm

    The presentation by Dr. Giovannetti- Torres will focus in his...

    Staged reading of “The (M)others”

    Fri Feb 15 2019 12:00pm to 2:00pm

    “The (M)others” is a collection of verbatim...

    Staged reading of “The (M)others”

    Sat Feb 16 2019 2:00pm to 4:00pm

    “The (M)others” is a collection of verbatim...

    Staged reading of “The (M)others”

    Sun Feb 17 2019 6:00pm to 8:00pm

    “The (M)others” is a collection of verbatim...

    Navigating Careers in the Arts and the Academy

    Thu Feb 21 2019 12:30pm to 2:00pm

    This event will feature a career- focused discussion with...

    The Language of Racism and Intolerance

    Thu Feb 21 2019 6:30pm to 8:00pm

    The Boxser Diversity Initiative presents a panel discussion...

    Feminist Friday – The Art of Activism

    Fri Feb 22 2019 12:00pm to 1:00pm

    This event will feature a dialogue between Professor Ladee...

    Career Talk- Working for Social Justice and Human Rights

    Fri Feb 22 2019 2:00pm to 3:00pm

    This event at the Center for Engagement and Opportunity (CEO)...

    Overcoming Our History of Hate

    Fri Feb 22 2019 4:30pm to 6:00pm

    Presentation by Equal Justice Initiative co-sponsored by The...

    The Making of the National Memorial for Peace and Justice

    Sat Feb 23 2019 11:30am to 1:00pm

    Public History, Social Justice:

    African Diaspora Film Festival – Tongues United by Marlon Riggs

    Tue Feb 26 2019 6:00pm to 9:00pm

    Filmmaker Marlon Riggs gives a voice to communities of gay...

    Black Literature Read-In

    Thu Feb 28 2019 11:30am to 2:00pm

    Black Literature Read-In, Featuring a talk by Dr. Wes Bellamy...