Faculty Honors

When it comes to research grants, honors and awards, the New College faculty chalk up achievements out of proportion to a school our size. The students benefit, too, because they get to participate in the “real world learning” opportunities presented by the faculty’s research grants.

Here are some examples of faculty honors since 2008:

Classics professor David Rohrbacher received the award for Excellence in Collegiate Teaching from the American Philological Association

History professor Carrie BeneŇ° was awarded the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Post-Doctoral Rome Prize by the American Academy in Rome

Sociology professor Sarah Hernandez was awarded a 2008-09 Fulbright Fellowship to teach and conduct research in Mexico

Psychology professor Gordon Bauer completed a research relating to the sensory performance of the West Indian manatee and received a new grant from the NSF for research on manatee vibrisse in collaboration with Sarasota’s Mote Marine Laboratory. He was also named a Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science.

Physics professor Mariana Sendova was awarded a $1.7 million grant from the Army Research lab to fund her research in nanoparticles – the largest research grant in the College’s history.

English professor Robert Zamsky received a grant from the Florida Humanities Council to support a project focusing on the historical and contemporary literary relationships between Florida and the Caribbean.

Biology professor Amy Clore was awarded a $375,000 grant from the National Science Foundation as part of a national team of researchers receiving $4 million to conduct research on endosperm production in maize.

Anthropology professor Maria Vesperi was awarded the American Anthropological Association’s Oxford Award for Undergraduate Teaching

Political science professor Frank Alcock received a Fulbright Senior Scholar grant to study and teach in New Zealand

English professor Miriam Wallace was selected for a summer institute sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities on the rule of law as it relates to the liberal arts

History professor David Harvey was awarded a Franklin Research Grant from the American Philosophical Society for his research on ideas related to human origins and racial differences

Music professor Maribeth Clark was elected to the Council of the American Musicological Society

Economic professor Tarron Khemraj was invited to join the Economic Council of the Alliance for Change in Guyana as an advisor on global, Caribbean and domestic issues

Chemistry professor Steven Shipman received three grants totaling more than $200,000 over three years for research on MRI microwave spectroscopy

French professor Amy Reid’s English translation of the book Queen Pokou: Concerto for a Sacrifice by Veronique Tadjo was named one of NPR’s Favorite Books of 2010

Chinese Language & Culture professors Jing Zhang and Aijun Zhu both received Chinese Course Development grants from the U.S. Department of Education and helped get a grant from the Chinese government for seven students to study in China.

Biology professor Sandra Gilchrist received grants from the Sarasota Bay Estuary Program for K-12 teacher workshops and a summer science program for underprivileged middle school students. She also spearheaded a gift from the AT&T Foundation to expand the College’s marine science program for elementary and middle-school children from low-income families.

Office of Communications
and Marketing

New College of Florida
5800 Bay Shore Road
Sarasota, Florida 34243

Phone: (941) 487-4153
Fax: (941) 487-4151