Our Graduates in Chemistry

After graduating from New College, Justin Walensky ('05) earned his Ph.D. from the University of California, Irvine, and joined the faculty as an assistant professor of chemistry at the University of Missouri, where he is researching the coordination and organometallic chemistry of the actinides in fundamental understanding of molecular and electronic structure as well as bonding. Additional areas of his research include Density Functional Theory of actinide-containing compounds, small molecule activation, main group chemistry (P, As, Se, Te), and the synthesis and luminescence of gold compounds. He is a past recipient of a Glenn T. Seaborg Institute Fellowship from Los Alamos National Laboratory and was a Robert A. Welsh Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow. He also received a CIBA Young Scientist Travel Award from the American Chemical Society and earned the Nuclear Forensics Junior Faculty Award from the Department of Homeland Security. Justin's New College thesis was on "Post Flow-Through Experiment Characterization of Volcanic Tuff and Carbonate Rock Cores from the Nevada Test Site: Implications for Sm, U, Np, and Pu Transport."

New College is proud of the many Chemistry graduates who have contributed to the field. Here's a sampling of some of our graduates:

Duncan Odom is principal investigator at Cancer Research UK – Cambridge Research Institute.

Kendra Bowman earned her Ph.D. in Chemistry from University of California, Berkeley and her M.D. from Stanford University.

Christine Gramer earned her Ph.D. in chemistry from University of California, Berkeley.

• Catherine Sarisky is an assistant professor of chemistry at Roanoke College.

Korin Wheeler is an assistant professor of biochemistry at Santa Clara University.

Steven Wheeler is an assistant professor of chemistry at Texas A&M University.

Erin Matthews is a scientist at Protein Sciences Corporation.

Jeffrey Saven is associate professor of chemistry at University of Pennsylvania.

Alan Campion is a professor and chairs the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Texas, Austin.

Jorge Rabaza is a general and bariatric surgeon at Miami H.O.P.E. Center

Jeffrey Muench is a general and vascular surgeon in Rockville, Maryland.

David Leonard is a head and neck surgeon with the U.S. Navy Medical Corps.

Byram Ozer received his PhD from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and is in residency in Neurobiology at

Alexandria Liang is a graduate student in Stephen J. Lippard's research group at MIT and is studying proton and electron transfer in monooxygenases.

Erinn Brigham is a graduate student in Gerald J. Meyer's research group at Johns Hopkins University and is studying multi-electron catalysis on semiconductor surfaces.

Ben Kriegel is a graduate student in John Arnold's group at University of California - Berkeley studying the catalytic reactivity of group 5 transition metal imido complexes.

Sarah Sherlock received her Ph.D. in biophysical chemistry from Stanford University and is currently a research scientist at Pfizer.

Sample of Graduate and Medical Schools Attended by NCF Students in Chemistry

• Caltech
• Stanford
• University of California, Berkeley
• Johns Hopkins
• Harvard University
• Cornell University
• Duke University
• University of Michigan
• University of Wisconsin, Madison
• University of Chicago
• Emory University
• University of California, Irvine
• University of Florida Medical School
• University of Georgia
• University of Miami Medical School
• University of South Florida Medical School


New College faculty members in Chemistry and Biochemistry have doctorates from University of Wisconsin, MIT, Berkeley and Cornell University and have earned grants from a variety of national and international agencies.

Office of the Provost
New College of Florida
5800 Bay Shore Road
Sarasota, Florida  34243

Phone: (941) 487-4200
Fax: (941) 487-4201